family vacation in Colorado

July 22, 2012

Somehow I pulled it off.  My family and I are on a summer-long trip to Colorado to hang out with Vanessa’s family followed by a short stay in New Mexico for her high school reunion (I’ll be a gentleman and not say what year).  Before leaving for our trip I had to check out a dozen-or-so books from the Gordon-Conwell library in order to do a research paper during our vacation.  Not a great plan I admit, but I really had no other option.  After a week of play and hanging out with the family I finally sat down and wrote my paper…it basically took me 3 days.  The subject of the paper was forgiveness and contemporary psychology (I’ll try to cut up some of it and post later).

Since finishing last week I’ve been meditating on some popular words by C.S. Lewis that are quite relevant for our experiences enjoying the beauty of Colorado:

We do not want merely to see beauty, though, God knows, even that is bounty enough.  We want something else which can hardly be put into words – to be united with the beauty we see, to pass into it, to receive ourselves, to bathe in it, to become part of it.  (The Weight of Glory)

We certainly miss our family, friends and the beauty back in NC, and while I don’t know if we’ll ever call Colorado “home” it sure feels like it when I visit.

3 Responses to “family vacation in Colorado”


  1. Hope you guys are having a great time. Too bad you can’t swing by here on your way back to NC.

  2. Mike Martin Says:

    Wow! Glad you got a big block of time in a great spot! Wonderful paper topic – a gift to be able to “noodle” on that stuff. Will be great to hear your ponderings. Miss you my brother. Enjoy and revel in the evidence of our awesome God. Grazie Signore! -mike-


Leave a Reply

