beauty, playfulness and rest

March 18, 2010

Last night my wife and I had dinner with another couple after going to hear Tim Keller speak at Wake Forest University.   Somehow we got to discussing a few vices that we shared in common:  for us guys it was a sweet tooth but for the ladies it was shopping… mostly at TJMaxx!  The similarities were quite funny and we had some good laughs at just how alike our wives were regarding the time spent looking for “awesome deals” even if the purchases weren’t really necessary.

I digress here to say that my wife (and our friend as well) are both very frugal  deal magnets when it comes to shopping.  As I type this I’m getting emails regarding stuff that my wife purchased at TJMaxx and has listed on Craigslist and Amazon at a nice little profit for us… so my complaining is certainly tongue-in-cheek.  That being said, I do sincerely hate going shopping with my wife… as much as I do love her!

At a certain pause in the conversation, when we were catching our collective breath from laughing so hard, my wife broke out with this gem:  “I think that what I really long for in my heart are beauty, playfulness and rest, and going shopping is one of the ways I try to fulfill some of those desires now rather than finding those now in my relationship with God and recognizing the future beauty he gives us in streets of gold, mansions and Himself.”

Well said babe!  Well said!

Oh yeah, and Keller was pretty good too!

4 Responses to “beauty, playfulness and rest”

  1. Wild Willie Says:

    Somehow I find it hard to believe that you were able to quote your wife word for word when her thought was so long. Anyway, it is a good point. Did the All Clad sell at a good profit?


    • What? You don’t remember everything your wife says word for word? True, I should have said “as best as I remember” or something of that sort. The All Clad is selling rather well… now if we only had a way to keep our supplies up!”

  2. seanmeade Says:

    Tim Keller is the man


Leave a Reply

